Match Reports

North Kerry Championship Final

posted 15 Feb 2011, 07:27 by Listowel Emmets

Listowel Emmets and Tarbert will have to do it all again as they drew the North Kerry Championship final in Ballybunnion on Sunday last on a scoreline of 1-7 to 2-04. Emmets trailed at the break by two points as Tarbert found the back of the net after 4 minutes(Leahy) and again just before half time(Dennihan). On the resumption Emmets took the opening point with a free from Noel Kennelly. It was Kennelly again who found the back of the net with a shot to the back of Tarbert net, Scanlanpointed a minute later as the clock ticked on it looked like Emmets would hold out for but a last gasp effort by Tarbert as Emmets David Sheehy shot dropped short Donnacha Enright found John Kelliher who put the point over the bar to draw level. 
Best for Listowel were Sean O'Mahony, Brian McGuire and Man of the Match Denis Walsh. Listowel Emmets would like express their gratitude to the Irish College Ballybunnion Board for use of their facilities and to Buddy Scanlan for all his help in the lead up to the final.   

Emmets Team: 1. Shane O'Nell. 2. Fergus Reen (C), 3. Kieran O'Connor, 4. Sean O'Mahony, 5. Ger McCarthy, 6. Brian McGuire, 7. Shane Quinn, 8. Paudie Buckley, 9. Sean McCarthy, 10. Denis Walsh, 11. David Sheehy, 12. Conor Cox(0-2, 0-1f), 13. Brian Scanlan(0-1), 14. Noel Kennelly (1-4,0-3f) 15. Derek Galvin. Subs: Brendan Guiney for Shane Quinn (50mins) Billy Doyle for Sean McCarthy (58mins)

1-1 of 1