Club News‎ > ‎

Novice Success for Emmets C

posted 15 Apr 2013, 04:25 by Listowel Emmets   [ updated 17 Apr 2013, 04:36 ]
Victorious Emmets C Team - 2012 North Kerry Novice Champions
Front (L-R) Mike O'Connor, Patrick O'Brien (selector), Darragh Broderick, David Keane, Darren Chute, Jack Hartnett, Darragh Leahy, Liam Collins, Charlie O'Brien,
Mikey Paul Kelliher, Bryan Greaney, Edward McCarthy (Manager)
Back (L-R) John Hartnett, Harry Foley, Shane O'Driscoll, Tom Walsh, Billy McElligott (Captain), Sean Carey, Mike Kennelly (Man of Match)
Picture Credit/Copyright: John Stack Photography
Listowel Emmets C Team were crowned North Kerry Novice Champions on Sunday last in Dowling Park Coolard after a hard fought battle with St. Senan's B. Senan's raced into an early lead aided by a stiff breeze and lead at the break by 0-05 to 0-00. The first half saw Emmets attacking well but they could not register a score on the board, with Mike Dalton Emmet's keeper playing the game of his youth pulling of two fine saves which were certain goals. On the resumption Emmets with the advance of the breeze took some good points the first coming from Kieran Sullivan, and a second from vetern Mikey Kennelly, with Emmets on the attack they saw 3 chances wasted with two hitting the upright and another off the crossbar, Charlie O'Brien taking a long range punt saw his effort billow into the back of the Senan's net and saw Emmets lead for the first time in the game. Senan's equalised shortly after and another point from Sean Carey saw Emmets edge into the lead once again. It looked like Emmets would hold out for victory but an equalising pointed free from Alan Doran saw this replay go into extra time. Full time score St. Senan's C 0.08 Emmets C 1.05  

Emmet's opted to play with the breeze in the opening half of extra time and got on the scoreboard first in the 2nd minute with a point from Mikey Kennelly and again on the 4th.  Emmet's again pointed from a fisted effort by Sean Carey, Kennelly again pointed just before the break to leave the Listowel side leading 1.09 to 0.08. 
Emmets converted two good points against a swirling wind to earn them victory, full time score Emmets 1.11 - 0.09
Billy McElligott, Emmets captain accepted the trophy on behalf of Emmets C Team and thanked everyone for their honesty and hard work throughout the campaigne, he also thanked team management of Edward McCarthy and Patrick O'Brien.
Emmets Team: Mike Dalton, Shane Drisscoll, Billy McEilligot (C), Liam Collins, Bryan Greaney, Darragh Broderick, Darren Chute, Tom Walsh, Pa Galvin, Darragh Leahy, Mickey Kennelly, David Keane, Kieran Sullivan, Sean Carey, Charlie OBrien, subs Michael OConnor for Tom Walsh, Jack Hartnett for Shane Driscoll.
Ref Eamon Moran (Ballydonoghue)