Club News‎ > ‎

Emmets Notes 30th June 2014

posted 28 Jul 2014, 07:30 by Listowel Emmets

Sympathy: Listowel Emmets extend their deepest sympathies to the O'Connor Family, Bedford on the recent death of Eamonn O'Connor. Ar dheis de go raibh a hanam dilis. 

Listowel Emmets Monthly Draw Results:

April 2014 
1st Prize €300 Kevin Woulfe, Clieveragh PK 
2nd/3RD /4th  Prize €100 : Stephen Stack, Killocrim, Emily Moloney, Irremore, Bridget Tydings, Greenville, 
€50 prizes: Junior Griffin, Ballygologue, Paddy Madden, Ballydonoghue, David Brosnan, Ennismore, John McGrath, Convent St, Christy Sheehy, Woodford, Eamonn Sweeney, c/o Kostal. 

May 2014
1st Prize €300 Paddy Madden, Ballydonoghue 

2nd/3RD /4th  Prize €100 Sean O’Mahony, Cahirdown, Mary Flynn, Aviation Dr., Peggy Browne, Coolagown, 
€50 prizesDavid Morris, Coilbee, Paddy Mulvihill, Cahidown, Sean Corridan, Ennismore, Robert Corridon, The Square, Anna McGuire, Church St, Helen O’Brien, Duagh 


All-Ireland Regional Feile:
Emmets U-14 footballers headed to Ballybrown in Limerick on Sat 28th June to compete in one of the All-Ireland Regional Feiles.Hopes were high as Mark,Bernard,Dermot,Billy and Joby had put a lot of work into these players over the last few weeks and so it proved on the day as our lads played some outstanding football to overcome all opposition and emerge victorious.We beat The Harp Gaels from County Laois 5-09 to 2-01 in our first game and followed that by beating St. Rynaghs of County Offaly in our second match by 6-07 to 2-02.It was obvious at this stage that the lads were really on their game,playing with great enthusiasm and skill and they topped off a great day by overcoming Ballybrown of Limerick in their final game by 9-07 to 1-00,playing some super football in the process.Feargal Wall,as captain, accepted the trophy on behalf of his delighted teammates and their many supporters.It was a historic occasion as Emmets assumed the mantle of All-Ireland Champions-a great day for the Club.All 21 players on the panel played their part on the day and can be very proud of themselves.

Mikey Kennelly carried out his first official duty as the inaugural Mayor of the new Listowel Municipal Area by welcoming the All-Ireland champions and their supporters back to town prior to their celebratory lap of the town and,of course,the trip to Jumbos! There is no doubt they slept well after their long day and that they'll have a little break now but we hope they will return to training hard again and compete for the North Kerry League and Championship later in the year.We thank Ballybrown,the host club,for their hospitality,grubbing us and the smooth running of the day.Thanks also to Conor Moriarty,our official photographer, and to Breda Galvin and Conor who were tweeting updates on the unfolding events.The team were kitted out superbly on the day and it really looked well--the club are grateful to Mark,Bernard,Dermot,Billy,parents of the players and those in the wider community that organized and supported the fundraising for this gear--well done all.Emmets Abu!                                                                                               

Feile Panel: Cameron Joy,Conor Hope,Tim Scanlon,Josh O Sullivan,Feargal Wall,Devan McKenna,Gavin Brouder,Jack O Donovan,Shane Hughes,Sean Keane,Jamie McVeigh,Shane Loughnane,Conor Costello,Pa Moloney,Micheal Kennedy,Dylan Houlihan,Darragh O Donoghue,Stephen McCarthy,Spencer Neill,Mark Galvin,Jake Kelly.
Manager:Mark Loughnane.Selectors:Bernard Costello,Dermot Hughes,Billy McElligott.
Footnote:The long and winding road to Ballybrown via the Pavilion,Tralee and Munster Council Headquarters in Limerick for hearings/appeals was due to the efforts of many in the club-our thanks to all who helped out but special mention to Conor Moriarty and Johnny O Brien for their un-wavering belief in the quest to right a wrong inflicted on these youngsters..Maith na fir.

ABC Club continues in Frank Sheehy Park on Saturday mornings from 10.45 - 11.45am, come a long and bring a friend. 

Emmets Ladies:

Congratulations to the Listowel Emmets girls u12 team who won the 2014  Glebe Kitchen u12 County League title last Tuesday night in John Mitchels, Tralee. They defeated a very strong and much fancied Miltown/Listry team in a thrilling game of football that enthralled the large crowd that attended. Both teams gave a wonderful display of football, but it was the Listowel girls absolute determination that allowed them to pull ahead at the final whistle to win on a final score of 3-5 to 1-9. Well done to all the team, their supporters and their managers: Brenda Pierse, Sean Hennelly and Pat Sheehan.
The team was: Valerie Guiney, Aoife Murphy, Kaci-Jo Nolan(Capt.), Molly McElligott, Hannah Healy, Cliona Pierse, Sive O’Callaghan-Leahy,
Aimee Mason, Elise Harris, Ava Grimes, Aoife Horgan, Lauryn Griffin, Nadine Moloney, Ciara Sweeney and Zara Doherty. Subs:  Ashling Joy, Emma Browne, Aimee Griffin and Grace Guiney.
Following on from the recent North Kerry U10’s Blitz held in Abbeydorney it will soon be our turn in Listowel to host an U8’s/ U10’s Blitz in association with the North Kerry Ladies Board. It will be held on Saturday July 19th in Frank Sheehy Park. Meanwhile Round 2 of the Kerry Go Games concluded last week. Thank you to Duagh for hosting Listowel.
There was disappointment for the U16’s after last weeks game was cancelled when Finuge/Senans could not field a team. The girls next game is at home on July 3rd at 7pm.