Club News‎ > ‎

Emmets Notes 05th January 2015

posted 5 Jan 2015, 06:11 by Listowel Emmets

North Kerry Senior Championship - Final
Emmets V Beale
Sat 10th January 2015

U21 Fixture
U21 Championship Quarter Finals: Bob Stack Memorial Cup
Sunday 18th January @  12 noon
Ballylongford/Asdee/Beale v Emmets Venue: Coolard

The Bernard O’Callaghan North Kerry Senior Championship Semi-Final Replay:
Listowel Emmets 1-14
St. Senans             2-05
A week on from the first meeting of these two sides and Bob Stack Park Ballybunion was a different place, basked in bright mid-winter sunshine. The crisp still air made conditions ideal for a skilful and entertaining matchup between Listowel Emmets and St. Senans.
Emmets had a number of changes resulting from the suspensions incurred in the first game. Kenneth Kelliher, Bryan Murphy and Bob Flavin coming in for the black and amber whilst the blue and gold called on Mike Keane.
This was a positive, open game from the get go with both sides playing high tempo football. St. Senans no. 5 David Foran initiated a lot of Senans attacks throughout the game with his runs from deep. Listowel Played a more direct game playing a long ball into the ever dangerous Conor Cox.
A frenetic start saw two goals inside the first two minutes. David Foran grabbing the first for St. Senans blasting the ball home from distance and almost immediately a high searching ball deep into Senans airspace met the fist of Cox and he directed it perfectly into the bottom corner of the Senans goal.
Paudie Quille notched up Senans next two scores from frees, Cox and Kennelly matching these with free’s of their own. David Sheehy got the first point from play on the 19th minute with a well taken score on the right wing but it was a swashbuckling drive at the Senans rear-guard after about 21 minutes of this game by Noel Kennelly holding off tackles from at least three Senans men seemed to give Listowel that extra edge and inspiration at this crucial juncture to go on and dominate the remaining 10 minutes of this half.
Cox and Murphy took the scores of the game in the 26th minute, Cox marauding in from the left wing and Murphy snatching a fine score under a lot of pressure from the tenacious Senans defence.
Another Cox free on 29’ saw the sides go in at half time Emmets leading 1-7 to 1-4.
The second half saw both sides squander a number of chances in the opening minutes but following a Cox free in the 35th minute, St Senans master marksman Paudie Quille drove down the inside left channel and scored the Mountcoal mens second goal of the game despite the effort appearing to have been cleared off the line by Jack McGuire.
And so Senans were back in the game however the Black and Amber responded well with scores from David Sheehy and a free from Cox on the 38th and 40th minutes respectively. Emmets were marginally in control of this game but St. Senans fought hard throughout to keep themselves in contention.
The wind was taken out of the sails of the Senans ship in the 48th minute however when their talisman and leader Brendan Whelan was sent off for a second yellow card. From that point on it was a matter of trying to close out the game for Listowel. Unresponded scores by Cox  and David Sheehy on 54 minutes saw the Fealesiders open up a comfortable lead and Senans looked a beaten team despite showing skill and admirable courage throughout.
Bryan Murphy again scored the final point in this game on the 63rd minute sealing Listowel Emmets passage into the 2014 North Kerry Senior Football Championship to face Beale whom I’m sure were interested spectators all day on their home sod.
Listowel Emmets: S. Quinn, F. Reen, J. McGuire, D. Broderick, K. Kelliher, B. McGuire, C. Mulvihill, M. Lynch, C. Cox, D. Sheehy, D. Halpin, B. Flavin, B. Murphy, N. Kennelly, D. Keane.
Subs: K. Hughes, R Halpin, B. Scanlon, E. O’Brien, D. Leahy, D. Hughes, B. Flavin, N. Collins.
Bainisteoir: Mike Kennelly
Rognoiri: Paddy Walsh, Kieran Lynch, Mike Dalton
Maor Foirne: Billy Lee.
St. Senans: E. O’Connell, S. T. Dillon, S. Dowling, A. Kennelly, D. Foran, S. Weir, R. Nolan, J. Brown, D. Somers, M. Behan, B. Whelan, C. O’Keeffe, D. Kennelly, P. Quille, M. Keane.
Subs: T. Stack, D. Behan, A. O’Mahoney, J. O’Carroll, L. Lynch, J. Barry, R. Kerins, B. O’Connell, J. Barry, A. Quilter, J. Twomey, R. Kelliher, G. O’Connell, S. Stack, P. Quille, D. O’Regan, K. Lyons.
Bainisteoir: Michael Lynch
Rognoiri: Tom O’Connell, Tom Stack, Darragh McAuliffe.