Club News‎ > ‎2015 Senior Teams‎ > ‎

2015 Intermediate Championship

Castleisland Co-Op Mart Intermediate Championship

Round 1: Emmets V St. Mary's in Frank Sheehy Park, Listowel Sun 19th April 2015 atr 2pm
Result: Emmets 1-08 St.Mary's 2-12
Emmets and St. Mary's met in the opening round of Intermediate Championship in splendid sunshine in Frank Sheehy Park. St. Mary's travelled well and really were superior to the home side with a comprehensive six  point victory to march on to meet Waterville next weekend.
It was the home side that opened the scoring with a pointed free from Conor Cox from the kick out Mary's were on par with pointed free from Jack Daly followed quickly by point from Daniel Daly. Scores were hard to come by with both teams dropping balls short and a lot of scrappy football. Brian Sheehan kept the Mary's in front with a well taken penalty in the closing minutes of the half to leave half time score Emmets 0-4 St. Mary's 1-3
The second half took off at ferocious speed with Darren Casey shooting a rasping shot low to the back of the Emmets net, Mary's Denis Daly attacked from the kick out and Cournane linked well to point from play. The home side had to dig deep and took two good points from play by David Keane and Conor Cox now operating on the '40. Emmets continued to attack in waves and with Kennelly brought down in the square Cox placed his penalty well to leave two between the sides. Turning point of the game came on the kick out with McGuire winning the kick out drove forward resulting in a free inside the Mary's '45 Conor cox' kick lingered in the air connecting with Kennelly but it was Ian Casey who came away with it connecting with Stapleton who pointed with ease. From there to the final whistle St Mary's kicked on led by the influential Denis Daly and a very good second half by Paul O'Donoghue. Their defense in particular was impressive with a good spread of scores across their forward lines. While the most impressive for the home side were Shane Quinn, Ger McCarthy and David Keane
Emmets Team: Keith Hughes, Jamie Barry, Jack McGuire, Shane Quinn, Ger McCarthy, Cormac Mulvihill, Darragh Leahy, Brian McGuire, Micheal Lynch, David Keane (0-2), Denis Walsh, Brendan Flavin, David Sheehy, Noel Kennelly Conor Cox 1-5, (1-0 pen, 0-2f), David Keane 0-2, Noel Kennelly 0-1 f
St. Mary's Darren Casey 1- 2, Sean Cournane 0-3, Brian Sheehan 1-0(pen), Denis Daly 0-3, Daniel Daly 0-2, Liam Stapleton, Jack Daly 0-1each
Man of Match: Denis Daly (St. Mary’s) Referee: John O’Connor Scartaglin