2013 Senior North Kerry League

Emmets 2013 NK Snr Lge Champions

Emmets 2013 North Kerry League - Division 1 Champions

Round 1 Emmets V Tarbert in Listowel Refixed for Fri 8th March 2013, Time TBC
Result: Emmets 0-18 Tarbert 1-9
Round 2 Emmets V Desmonds in Listowel on Sunday 24th February 2013 at 2.30pm
Result: Emmets 0-4 Desmonds 1-14
Report by Mairead O Sullivan - North Kerry Board PRO
This game was played in Frank Sheehy Park last Saturday evening, from the start Desmonds were in the driving seat and never took their foot of the peddle. In the first minute Thomas Hickey Desmonds point from a free, again Hickey pointed with a great long distance score in the 4th minute. the play went up and down the pitch until Michael Walsh Desmonds pointed in the 7th mintue, wing back Tadhg O Connell Desmonds split the posts in the 9th minute. Emmets wing back Cormac Mulvihill showed leadership to his team mates and drove at Desmonds to fire the ball over the bar in the 12th minute. With the backs doing trogant work on both teams the next score didnt come until the 16th minute when Desmonds Steven Bartlett converted a free. His equal on the Emmets team Tadhg Kennelly converted a free in the 19th minute, again it was wing back Cormac Mulvihill Emmets who spilt the posts in the 21st minute, in the 24th minute Desmonds Owen Murphy pointed in the 27th minute Thomas Hickey Desmonds fired the ball over the bar and the last score of the came from the boot of Emmets Tadhg Kennelly from a free in the 31st minute Half Time Score Emmets 0.04 - Desmonds 0.07
Second half and the game was over as a contest as Emmets failed to score in the half, but did find the target only to drop short 11 balls into the keepers hands. Desmonds socrers of the half were Owen Murphy 1.01, Thomas Hickey 0.02, Michael Walsh 0.01 and Kerry minor trail players subs Shane OConnor 0.01, and Cian OConnor 0.02 Desmonds will be much the happier outfit after two comperhensive wins in the first two rounds of the league.
Round 3 Emmets Rest
Round 4 Emmets V Brosna in Brosna on Sunday 10th March 2013
Result: Emmets 1-07 Brosna 0-9
Emmets had a good win over Brosna on Sunday last and were the stronger side in the first half and enjoyed a 1-6 to 4 points lead at half time. The goal coming from wing forward Darren Halpin. Brosna were the better team in the 2nd half with Mike Finnegan scoring 2 excellent points from wing back. Listowel's solitary score in the 2nd half came from Cormac Mulvihill which turned out to be the winner. Brosna had chances in the final few minutes to level the game but they were unable to find that all important score. Final score Brosna 9 points, Listowel 1-07. Credit due to both sides as conditions on the day were far from ideal.
Listowel Team: C Walsh, B Greaney, S O'Mahony, J Barry, G McCarthy, D Walsh, J Heaphy, B Flavin, M Lynch, D Halpin (1 goal), C Mulvihill (3 points) , E Walsh, B Doyle, N Kennelly, B Murphy (4 points)
Round 5 Emmets V Moyvane in Moyvane on Sunday 24th March 2013
Result: Emmets 2-12 Moyvane 0-7
Report by Mairead O Sullivan - North Kerry Board PRO
This game was played last Friday night underlights in Listowel with a slow start from both teams with some bad handling errors it took until the 10th minute for the first score which came from Emmets a point from wing back John Heaphy this was to be their only score from play in this half. A minute and a half later the Moyvane reply came from the boot of corner forward D.J Keane when he fired the ball over the crossbar. When Emmets ran at Moyvane they were repeatedly foulded and went on to convert 3 frees two from Connor Cox and one from Noel Kennelly and a plenty from Cormac Mulvihill in the 23rd minute this was Emmets last score of the half. Moyvane scored three more points in the 17th minute from Kevin Kennelly a free in the 21st minute converted by Timmy Noonan and a point in the 26th minute from corner forward D.J Keane. Half time score Listowel Emmets 1.04 - Moyvane 0.04
Second half and Emmets hit the pitch running, leaving Moyvane chasing the game the whole way through. It took 30 seconds for full forward Noel Kennelly Emmets to point, in the 4th and 6th minutes corner forward Conor Cox spilt the posts. A long ball kicked in around the square won by Bryan Murphy and tipped into the net by Noel Kennelly saw Emmets second goal in the 7th minute. It took untill the 8th minute for Moyvane's first score of the half again coming from corner forward D.J Keane. But again the Moyvane backs lacked disicipline and Emmets Noel Kennelly converted two frees in the 15th and 16th minutes. A 45 was kicked from the ground to go sailing over the bar in the 20th minute for Emmets wing forward Cormac Mulvihill. Moyvane replied in the 22nd minute with a point from corner back Shane Stack and again in the 25th minute Moyvanes mid feilder John Jack Mulvihill pointed but too little to late and Listowel Emmets went on to score two more points in the 29th minute and 30th minute from the boot of Bryan Murphy Listowel went on to win on a scoreline of 2.12 to Moyvane's 0.07
Teams Moyvane Brendan Galvin, Shane Stack, Bill Madden, Connor Flynn, James Flavin, Denis Kennelly, Nial Sheehan, Donal Leahy, John Jack Mulvihill, Kevin Kennelly, P.J Reynolds, David Moloney, D.J Keane, Diarmuid Leahy, Timmy Noonan, subs Diarmuid Fitzmaurice for Brendan Galvin, P,J Stack for P.J Reynolds, Ian McCarthy for Kevin Kennelly, Timmy Kennelly for Connor Flynn, James Kennelly for Timmy Noonan.
Listowel Emmets: Connor Walsh, Jamie Barry, Sean Mahoney, Bryan Greaney, Ger McCarthy, Denis Walsh, John Heaphy, Martin Flavin, Brendan Flavin, Darren Halpin, Cormac Mulvihill, Eddie Joe Walsh, Connor Cox, Noel Kennelly, Bryan Murphy. Referee Ian Liston Finuge
Semi Final Play Off: Emmets V Desmonds on Friday 31st May at 7.30pm in Finuge
Result: Emmets 4-12 Desmonds 1 -13
Semi Final: Emmets V Finuge on Friday 9th August at 7.00pm in Coolard ET
Result: Emmets 1-11 Finuge 0-10
Final: Emmets V Brosna on Friday 23rd August at 7.30pm in Moyvane
Result: Emmets 0-14 Brosna 0-10
Team: Shane Quinn, Jamie Barry (0-1), Jack McGuire, John Heaphy, Ger McCarthy (0-1), Denis Walsh, David Ryan, Noel Kennelly (0-3, 0-2f), Martin Flavin (0-1), Brendan Flavin, Cormac Mulvihill (0-5), Billy Doyle, Conor Cox (0-1), Darren Halpin, Bryan Murphy (0-2)