2013 Senior North Kerry Championship

2013 Bernard O'Callaghan Memorial

North Kerry Senior Football Championship

- Sponsored by McMunns Bar & Restaurant Ballybunion -

Round 1: Listowel Emmets Bye
Quarter final: Listowel Emmets V Knocknagoshel in Duagh on Sunday 24th November at 1pm
Result: Listowel EmmetsListowel Emmets 1-15 Knockngashel 0-12
Played in ideal conditions for this time of year in Duagh, this was an entertaining fixture pitting division 5 underdogs Knocknagashel against newly promoted division one outfit Listowel Emmets in this Senior North Kerry Champioship Quarter Final.
While Knocknagashel put up a good battle, Emmets always looked in control of the game with Conor Cox dominating in the forward line with 10 points, 5 coming from play.
Knocknagashel worryingly broke through the Emmets rear guard a number of times in the first half and kicked a number of impressive scores from centre forward and midfield but Emmets responded well with Conor Cox landing a couple of big scores off either foot.
Billy Doyle, Bryan Murphy and Aengus Fitzgerald all chipped in with well taken points in the 12th, 20th and 31st minutes respectively.
Emmets went in at half-time leading 0-10 to 0-07.
The second half saw a slightly more broken period of play with a number of short stoppages. Listowel maintained their lead with Cox again finding his range on the 44th minute.
The only goal of the game came at the 47th minute from the boot of Cormac Mulvihill and Noel Kennelly landed a massive point with his right in the 66th minute to all but finish the tie as a contest.
Emmets introduced Darragh Keane, Jake Moriarty and David Leahy in the second half to make their Senior North Kerry Championship debuts.
Listowel Emmets Scorers: C. Cox 0-10 (5f), C. Mulvihill 1-00, N. Kennelly 0-02 (0-01f), B. Doyle 0-01, A. Fitzgerald 0-01.
Teams: Listowel Emmets: 1. Shane Quinn 2. Jack McGuire 3. Brendan Guiney 4.John Heaphy 5. Ger McCarthy 6. Denis Walsh (C) 7. Jamie Barry 8. Noel Kennelly 9. Michéal Lynch 10. Maurice Whelan 11. Cormac Mulvihill 12. Bryan Murphy 13. Aengus Fitzgerald 14. Conor Cox 15. Billy Doyle.
Subs used: Jake Moriarty for Jamie Barry, Darragh Leahy for Maurice Whelan & David Keane for Billy Doyle