Archive‎ > ‎

2010 Emmets Victory Social

Listowel Emmets held their social on Saturday night last at the Arms hotel, with a great crowd in attendance it really was a great night's entertainment and well done to all in Emmets who made this a very special night.

The night began with Mike Kennelly introducing Emmets Senior Ladies Club to the social for the first time he acknowledged their huge contribution to the club as they brought to the table their 4 cups which they won in 2009. Our special guest for the evening the great Eoin "Bomber" Liston. Bomber thanked Emmets for inviting him to the social and then regaled us with stories of yester year when he and the late great Tim Kennelly wore the green and gold jersey and the titanic battles Listowel and Beale had in North Kerry Championships

It was then to the formalities of the evening with presentation of medals to the Emmets Senior Ladies who won the North Kerry League, Pat Lawlor Plate and the Junior B League and Championship. Jim Galvin expressed his delight at being part of the senior Ladies club and thanked each and every player for all their hard work and commitment throughout the year. Laura Lavery made a special presentation to Jim on behalf of all the club and the players for the tireless work and commitment he puts in to furthering and development of Ladies football in Listowel. 
Emmets Ladies U-17 Player of the Year went to Rachel Keane a girl that has excelled in defence for Emmets all year, it was remarked that it won't be long before she'll be wearing a green and gold jersey. 
Emmets Young Player of the Year went to Rachel Stapleton, she had a fantastic year in the half back line of the senior ladies team and has without doubt a very bright future ahead of her. Emmets Junior Ladies Player of the Year went to Marian Keane for her sheer commitment and dedication to the Emmets has been immense and well deserving recipient. Finally from the Ladies side the Senior Ladies Player of the year which was picked by the girls themselves went to Maire Guiney a true Emmets gael whose leadership both on and off the field has been exceptional. Well done to all.

It was then the turn of the Emmets Senior club with presentation to the U21's who won the North Kerry Championship. Kieran O'Connor received the player of the year award for his commitment and dependability, Kieran has matured into a fine player and has made the full back position his own over the last number of years. Well done Kieran, this trophy was kindly sponsored by John Mc Guire

The Minor Player of the year went to Richard Bourke for his total commitment to Listowel Emmets a man that improved consistently over the last number of years and a well deserved Player of the year. well done Richard. The Junior Player of the Year went to Darren Halpin sponsored by Liam Canty and the Intermediate award sponsored by Sean and Dara Costello went to Graeme Tarrant.

The senior player of the year went to Billy Doyle now a stalwart at Emmets his dependability and reliability both on and off the field is second to none. Well done Billy, with the award sponsored by Eamonn O'Carroll and Christy Walsh,

The Club Person of the year award was divided between the three men that brought the North Kerry Championship back to Listowel in 2009, Johnny Mulvihill, Stephen Stack and Billy Lee. The contribution these men have made to Listowel Emmets over the last three years has been huge and they are most deserving of the award which was kindly sponsored by Gene Moriarty and Sons Electrical Contractors. The grand finale of awards for the night was the presentation of the Hall of Fame award to John Hartnett Senior.

Congratulations to John Perryman who won the 1977 All Ireland football signed by both Kerry and Dublin players, John gave the ball back to the club so it can be displayed in the Clubhouse.

The music flowed for the rest of the night provided by Mystic Blue and DJ Phats. Thanks to all your contributed to a wonderful night.

Many Thanks to Conor Moriarty for the taking the photographs below. Please if you require original files which are better for printing.